Smith and Phelps Voted All-State Basketball Stars

DeSoto basketball star Sa’Myah Smith voted State Event MVP in her 6A division.
Photograph courtesy of DeSoto ISD

2021 Excessive Faculty Basketball Honors

A 12 months in the past basketball gamers and coaches all through North Texas, as have been the remaining throughout the state, discovered themselves asking what would possibly the long run maintain? In any case, life will get fairly unsure within the wake of a lethal virus shutting the whole lot down.

Whereas the women topped state basketball champions, narrowly beating out the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the boys weren’t so lucky. The Coronavirus worn out the boys state match smack dab in the course of competitors.

Flash ahead a 12 months, and whereas life continues to be not regular, the hoops season managed to play itself out utterly. With all precautions intact, they made up for the misplaced alternatives.

Groups all throughout the North Texas space loved profitable seasons, albeit with occasional interruptions. Two of these squads, the Duncanville Panthers and DeSoto Girl Eagles, even got here dwelling with state titles amongst Class 6A girls and boys, respectively.

It was the primary in Lady Eagles historical past. In the meantime, the Panthers picked up the place they left on in 2019 by repeating as state champions. They have been additionally one of many groups despatched dwelling from the 2020 state match.

Likewise, these two squads have been well-represented when it got here time to announce the all-state groups from the Texas Affiliation of Basketball Coaches and Texas Girls Coaches Affiliation. Additionally they positioned essentially the most gamers on the College Interscholastic League Class 6A State Event groups, together with the MVP in each divisions – Zhurich Phelps of Duncanville and Sa’Myah Smith of DeSoto.

Zhurich Phelps of Duncanville was voted State Event MVP in his 6A division. Photograph courtesy of Camarion Johnson

Smith, actually, was unsure if she’d even get to play this season after struggling a knee harm final summer time.

“I’m so pleased with Sa’Myah and the way in which she labored so onerous to return again, and to have her profession at DeSoto finish like this, it’s a must to be completely happy for her,” Girl Eagles coach Andrea Robinson mentioned.

Each Phelps and Smith have been among the many quite a few gamers from the realm named to their respective all-state groups.

However then, true to the basketball expertise in North Texas, 9 groups have been represented within the TABC All-State honors, whereas one other 4 obtained accolades from the TGCA.

Texas Affiliation of Basketball Coaches All-State choices

Class 6A

Duncanville – Damon Nicholas, Zhuric Phelps.
Waxahachie – C.J. Noland, Waxahachie.
South Grand Prairie – Jordan Roberts.

Class 5A

Lancaster – Wade Taylor
Mansfield Timberview – Jared Washington.

6A All-Area I

South Grand Prairie – Jordan Roberts.

Area II

Duncanville – Ronald Holland, Damon Nicholas, Zhuric Phelps.
Waxahachie – C.J. Holland, Montez Younger Jr.

Class 5A All-Area I

Mansfield Summit – Channon Corridor.
Mansfield Timberview – Jared Washington, Chendall Weaver.
Mansfield Legacy – Quion Williams.
Midlothian – Corbin Inexperienced.
Lancaster – Elijah Hughey, Marquis Sykes, Wade Taylor.

Class 4A All-Area II

Wilmer-Hutchens – Octavio Alexander.

Class 6A

Cedar Hill – Portia Adams.
DeSoto – Tionna Heron, Sa’Myah Smith.
South Grand Prairie – Kiara Jackson.
Duncanville – Zaria Rufus, Duncanville.

Class 5A

Mansfield Legacy – Savannah Catalon.
Crimson Oak – Breanna Davis.

Class 6A All-Area I Ladies

South Grand Prairie – Kiara Jackson, Vasana Kearney, Kendell McGruder.

Area II

Cedar Hill – Portia Adams.
Mansfield – Zarria Carter.
DeSoto – Tionna Heron, Amina Muhammed, Sa’Myah Smith.
Duncanville – Kiyara Howard-Garza, Zaria Rufus, Tristen Taylor.

Class 5A All-Area I

Mansfield Legacy – Savannah Catalon, Sirviva Legions.

Area II

Crimson Oak – Breanna Davis, Aniya Johnson.
Midlothian – Kierra Middleton.

Class 4A Area II

Midlothian Heritage – Jerzie Bryant, Kora Huff.

Texas Ladies Coaches Affiliation All-State
Class 6A

Cedar Hill – Portia Adams.
South Grand Prairie – Kiara Jackson, Kendell McGruder.

Class 5A

Crimson Oak – Breanna Davis, Aniyah Johnson.

Class 4A

Midlothian Heritage – Jerzie Bryant.

UIL All-State Event Groups
Class 6A

Duncanville – Zhuric Phelps, Duncanville, MVP; Damon Nicholas, Juan Reyna.


DeSoto – Sa’Myah Smith, MVP; Kendall Brown, Ayanna Thompson.



Source link